NBA gets new president

The 31st President of the Nigerian Bar Association, NBA, has emerged. He is Yakubu Maikyau, SAN.

The SAN’s emergence followed an election of the legal body which was held virtually.

Making the declaration in Abuja on Sunday while announcing the result of the poll, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee who is also an SAN, Professor Ayodele Akintunde, said Maikyau who polled a total of 22, 342 votes to win the election, was followed closely by his fellow SAN, Joe-Kyari Gadzama who scored 10, 842 votes.

Mr. Taidi Jonathan came third in the exercise with a total of 1,373 votes.

Other national officers elected are Mrs. Linda Bala – 1st Vice President, Mr. Clement Ugo – 2nd Vice President, and Mrs. Amanda Demechi-Asagba – 3rd Vice President.

Also elected are Mr. Adesina Adegbite – General Secretary, Mr. Daniel Kip Ka-Ayli – Assistant General Secretary, Ms. Chinyere Obasi – National Welfare Secretary, Mr. Habeeb Lawal – National Publicity Secretary, Mr. Olawole Ajiboye – Assistant Publicity Secretary, and Anze-Bishop Ladidi – Treasurer.

20 lawyers were equally elected as members of the NBA General Council to represent the western, eastern, and northern zones.

All rights reserved. This material and other digital volumes on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from THE NEWS ACCELERATOR NETWORK.

Contact: or 08022717838, 08033599492

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.